Have and Have Got

August 17, 2006

The differences between ‘have’ and ‘have got’ can be confusing for beginners. Here is a guide the two forms.

Remember these important points:

  • ‘Have’ and ‘Have got’ are used for possession.Example: Jack has got a beautiful house. OR Jack has a beautiful house.
  • Only ‘have’ is used when talking about actions.Example: I usually have breakfast at 8 o’clock. NOT I usually have got breakfast at 8 o’clock.
  • The question form for ‘have’ follows regular present simple:Example: Do you have a fast car? NOT Have you a fast car?
  • ‘Have’ and ‘Have got’ are only used in the present simple.
  • Use ‘have’ for the past simple or future forms.Example: She had a copy of that book.
  • There is no contracted form for ‘Have’ in the positive form. The contracted form is used for ‘have got’Example: I have a red bicycle. OR I’ve got a red bicycle. NOT I’ve a red bicycle.

Here is a grammar chart showing the construction of the two forms:

Positive I, You, We, They HAVE GOT
Subject + have + got + objects
They have got a new car. Contracted: They’ve got a new car.

Positive He, She, It HAVE GOT
Subject + has + got + objects
He has got a new car. Contracted: He’s got a new car.

Positive I, You, We, They HAVE
Subject + have + objects
They have a new car. There is no contracted form

Positive He, She, It HAVE
Subject + have + objects
She has a new car. There is no contracted form

Question I, You, We, They HAVE GOT
(?) + have + subject + got?
How many children have you got? There is no contracted form

Question He, She, It HAVE GOT
(?) + has + subject + got?
How many children has he got? There is no contracted form

Question I, You, We, They HAVE
(?) + do + subject + have?
How many children do you have? There is no contracted form

Question He, She, It HAVE
(?) + does + subject + have?
How many children does he have? There is no contracted form

Negative I, You, We, They HAVE GOT
Subject + have + not + got + objects
We have not got a dog. Contraction: We haven’t got a dog.

Negative He, She, It HAVE GOT
Subject + has + not + got + objects
She has not got a dog. Contraction: She hasn’t got a dog.

Negative I, You, We, They HAVE
Subject + do + not + have + objects
They do not have a dog. Contraction: They don’t have a dog.

Negative He, She, It HAVE GOT
Subject + does + not + have + objects
She does not have a dog. Contraction: She doesn’t have a dog.

7 Responses to “Have and Have Got”

  1. muslin Says:

    just drop by to your blog..still no new update.. it seem like ur new job took all of your leisure time..but this is not the main issue coz what i wanna inform you that this weekend i will be at my lovely island. if you dun mind can we meet at penang this weekend..

    haha..how is my english huh..

    woi aku balek penang la ujung minggu nie..kalo free ckp arr..bleh jumpa..huhu..mby malam minggu kat gurney drive ka..


  2. Yo brader…Definitely as what you said!! no time to write and also my main problem is, i dun have the access from my house!! still waiting TM to add some more port(all occupied oledy lor)

    by the way!! GURNEY drive at night haaaa?? are you crazy??i’m staying @ SP lor…but for you, i’ll make it

    ADIOS

  3. pegasus Says:

    u compltely stopped blogging?

  4. belajarbersamasaya Says:

    not yet..i’ll be update it soon.

  5. yginsaf Says:

    lama x update blog? kepenatan?

  6. siddiq azani Says:

    assalamualaikum Tan Sri.

    penulisan saya ini bukanlah mahu bercakap tentang bisnes, namun kehadiran saya adalah dengan berbesar hati untuk mengucapkan terima kasih saya pada tan sri kerana tan sri telah banyak menolong saya. saya cuba cari ruang komen tapi tak jumpa, harap maaf tan sri kalau saya dah masuk tempat yang tidak sesuai dan salah. saya tak kisah kalau tan sri tak approve komen saya ini pun, tetapi saya harap tan sri sedang membaca komen saya ini.

    nama saya mohamad siddiq bin mohd azani. berumur 21 tahun. saya merupakan bekas penerima bantuan yayasan tan sri, yayasan albukhary. saya belajar di sekolah menengah keb telok datok, banting. kini saya menuntut di uitm shah alam di jurusan undang2.

    saya sentiasa berangan untuk berjumpa tan sri. namun hari ini saya gembira kerana dapat temui laman blog tan sri. saya ingin mengucapkan jutaan terima kasih kerana dengan bantuan daripada yayasan al bukhary, saya telah berjaya dalam SPM dan kini melanjutkan pelajaran di bidang undang2. telah lama saya simpan penghargaan ini buat tan sri. begitu juga kawan2 saya, kami semua berjaya melanjutkan pelajaran ke universiti dengan berkat bantuan tan sri. Alhamdullilah. tan sri, saya bukanlah merupakan pelajar yang pandai. saya terus terang dengan tan sri saya kerap kali gagal dalam matapelajaran sains seperti mamtematik tambahan. namun dengan bantuan yaysan al bukhari, saya berjaya.

    okeylah tan sri, saya kena gerak balik ke kampus semula. saya gembira dan berbesar hati dapat bersua dengan tan sri di laman maya disini hari ini. saya sentiasa menanti peluang dan berharap bertemu dengan tan sri suatu hari nanti. kalau tan sri lapang, ni email saya. manala tahu kita dapat berinteraksi dengan lebih lanjut lagi..

    themalayhope@yahoo.com
    themalayhope@gmail.com
    themalayhope@hotmail.com

    sekain tan sri, assalamualaikum.


  7. You connect floppy power to the adapter to power the adapter itself but the SATA drive needs entirely separate power (which I didn’t know originally). Click https://twitter.com/moooker1


Leave a Reply

