Lesson : Grammar – Verbs

June 2, 2006

Tags Question

ie : You speak English, don’t you? ( Awak bertutur Bahasa Inggeris, Betul tak?)

We use tag questions at the end of statements to ask for confirmation. They mean something like: “Am I right?” or “Do you agree?” They are very common in English.

Snow is white(+Positive statement), isn’t it(-negative tag)?
You don’t like me(-Negative statement), do you(+positive tag)?

Rule : kalau sentence tu bermula dgn positive then tag question mesti Negative dan sebaliknya…


Contoh Lagi ( +positive then -negative )

  • You are coming, are n’t you?
  • We have finished, have n’t we?
  • You do like coffee, do n’t you?
  • You like coffee, do n’t you?
  • They will help, wo n’t they? note: won’t = will not
  • I can come, can ‘t I?
  • We must go, must n’t we?
  • He should try harder, should n’t he?
  • You are English, are n’t you?
  • ohn was there, was n’t he?

Contoh Lagi ( -negative then +positive)

  • It is n’t raining, is it?
  • We have never seen that, have we?
  • You do n’t like coffee, do you?
  • They will not help, will they?
  • They wo n’t report us, will they?
  • I can never do it right, can I?
  • We must n’t tell her, must we?
  • He should n’t drive so fast, should he?
  • You are n’t English, are you?
  • John was not there, was he?

Some Special Case

  • I am right, aren’t I? aren’t I (not amn’t I)
  • you have to go, don’t you? (you (do) have to go… )
  • I have been answering, haven’t I? (use first auxiliary)
  • Nothing came in the post, did it? (treat statements with nothing, nobody etc like negative statements )
  • Let’s go, shall we?( let’s = let us )
  • He’d better do it, hadn’t he? (he had better (no auxiliary)

Here are some mixed examples:

  • But you don’t really love her, do you?
  • This will work, won’t it?
  • Well, I couldn’t help it, could I?
  • But you’ll tell me if she calls, won’t you?
  • We’d never have known, would we?
  • The weather’s bad, isn’t it?
  • You won’t be late, will you?
  • Nobody knows, do they?

Intonation (nada suara)

We can change the meaning of a tag question with the musical pitch of our voice. With rising intonation, it sounds like a real question. But if our intonation falls, it sounds more like a statement that doesn’t require a real answer:

  • You don’t know where my wallet is, do you? –> Time do you tuh..korang tinggikan suara sket, baru macho :))
  • It’s a beatiful view, isn’t it? –> Time isn’t it tuh..korang turunkan suara sket, baru KIUT :))

Answers to tag questions(Cara Menjawab tag Question)

Q: Snow is white, isn’t it?
A: Yes (it is).

Q: Snow isn’t white, is it?
A: Yes it is!

Q: Snow is black, isn’t it?
A: No it isn’t!

Q: Snow isn’t black, is it?
A: No (it isn’t).

In some languages, people answer a question like “Snow isn’t black, is it?” with “Yes” (meaning “Yes, I agree with you”). This is the wrong answer in English!

Here are some more examples, with correct answers:

The moon goes round the earth, doesn’t it? Yes, it does.
The earth is bigger than the moon, isn’t it? Yes.
The earth is bigger than the sun, isn’t it? No, it isn’t!
Asian people don’t like rice, do they? Yes, they do!
Elephants live in Europe, don’t they? No, they don’t!
Men don’t have babies, do they? No.
The English alphabet doesn’t have 40 letters, does it? No, it doesn’t.

2 Responses to “Lesson : Grammar – Verbs”

  1. Michael Says:

    While what you’re trying to do is noble and all, you can’t teach someone a language without forcing them to speak it.

    I was doing a French language course, and I thought I was brilliant, until I went to France and found out my command of the language was rubbish!

    That was a hard week for me, but I came back feeling like I’d improved leaps and bounds, better than anything that bunch of CDs ever did.

  2. Woklong Says:

    Absolutely..that why i need to come out with other type of learning, so that people can Communicate
    What about we USE YAHOO MESENGGER WITH VOICE and create community. Using this, we can listen to each other right.


Leave a Reply

